Read the counter-case
On this page

Cent plans 20–25 MRI-led preventive health centres across India in 6–9 months

Our read

Cent's rollout will validate premium preventive MRI demand in major Indian metros, but utilization and clinical follow-up capacity—not site openings—will determine whether it achieves durable unit economics.

For operators

Cent’s rapid rollout of 20–25 MRI-led centres will test whether it can standardise staffing, equipment uptime and patient throughput at up to 3,000 scans per site per month.

Watch

Announced city list, opening cadence and whether centres are owned, leased or partner-operated.

Ask next

The report,

Bengaluru-based Cent, a D2C preventive-health diagnostics startup, plans to open 20-25 centres across seven major Indian cities within six to nine months. Backed by roughly $5 million in seed funding, it sells a fixed ₹27,500 MRI-led annual screening protocol.

Store and format facts

From the report. Source details below

  • up to 3,000 scans per centre per month
  • further 15 cities targeted
  • 3% flagged with critical conditions
  • ₹50,000-₹60,000 conventional full-body MRI cost

Other figures

  • 3 diagnostic centres
  • ~7,000 scans completed
  • ~3,000 monthly scans
  • top 7 cities initially

What it means for the format

Cent’s growing preventive-diagnostics network could make it a compelling partnership or acquisition target for hospital chains, insurers and diagnostic platforms seeking an MRI-led entry into premium preventive healthcare.

Next on the rollout

  • Monthly scan volumes per operating centre versus the 3,000-scan capacity target.
  • Corporate wellness, insurer or hospital-network partnerships that lower customer acquisition costs and validate demand.
  • Changes in price, financing options or bundled follow-up services that indicate demand elasticity or competitive pressure.
  • Radiologist hiring, report turnaround times, incidental-finding rates and patient follow-up conversion.
  • Competitive MRI-led preventive packages from diagnostic chains, hospital groups and digital health platforms.
Show 1 more
  • Additional funding or equipment-financing arrangements, which may be needed if the rollout is predominantly owned-centre based.

Likely next moves

Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.

  • Prioritize asset-light MRI partnerships or managed-service agreements where possible to reduce upfront capex and accelerate city entry.
  • Build centralized radiology, quality assurance and follow-up navigation capacity before opening multiple sites, since reporting consistency and clinical trust will determine referrals and retention.
  • Target employer health-benefit partnerships and affluent member communities to secure predictable scan volumes rather than relying primarily on direct-to-consumer acquisition.
  • Create structured post-scan care pathways with specialists and hospitals; abnormal findings need fast follow-up, and this can become a defensible service layer beyond imaging.
  • Track city-level contribution margins tightly and stage rollout based on booked scans, repeat/referral rates and radiologist turnaround times.

The counter-case

The case against this reading — not reported by the source.

The expansion target looks aggressive relative to Cent's proof base: roughly 7,000 completed scans is limited evidence of repeatable city-level demand, referral economics, and sustainable utilisation. Opening 20–25 MRI-led centres in 6–9 months requires substantial site, equipment, radiologist, technician, compliance and working-capital execution; about $5 million of seed funding may be insufficient if Cent owns or meaningfully finances MRI infrastructure. The ₹27,500 fixed-price protocol is premium-priced for a mass-market preventive offering, while MRI-led screening may face customer-conversion friction and clinical scepticism around overdiagnosis, incidental findings and downstream follow-up costs. The stated 3,000 scans per centre per month capacity also creates a high utilisation hurdle: underfilled centres would rapidly dilute margins given fixed equipment and staffing costs.

The source

Source Read the source at Inc42 Published

First seen