On this page
River Mobility targets 200 stores by March 2027 after $120m Series C raise
Our read
River's main challenge will shift from raising expansion capital to synchronizing factory output, service reliability, and per-store demand; its 200-store goal is credible only if retail productivity rises alongside the new product pipeline.
For operators
River Mobility’s plan to reach 200 stores by March 2027 makes retail rollout, service capacity and local market execution as critical as its new scooter launches.
Watch
Factory site selection, construction timeline, and disclosed annual production capacity.
Ask next
The report,
River Mobility raised $120 million to add two electric scooters, build a greenfield factory and expand to about 200 stores by March 2027. The Bengaluru EV maker targets EBITDA break-even at 25,000 monthly sales, versus current sales of 6,000-7,000 units.
Store and format facts
From the report. Source details below
| greenfield factory construction in | 45-60 days |
|---|---|
| new factory capacity at | 7-8 times current capacity |
| current capacity of | 10,000 units per month |
| $50-60 million factory investment | over 3-4 years |
Also in the report
- 10-12 months for first factory phase
- 30-40% of proceeds allocated to factory, R&D and products
- PLI cost advantage of 12-13% for eligible companies
Other figures
- 2 new electric scooters
What it means for the format
River’s rapid footprint buildout creates potential opportunities for real-estate, charging, distribution and service partnerships that can accelerate its expansion without overextending internal capabilities.
Next on the rollout
- Monthly registrations, delivery lead times, and model-wise sales after new launches.
- Store format mix: company-owned versus dealer/franchise-operated locations.
- Evidence of service-network expansion, spare-parts availability, and customer complaint trends.
- Dealer economics, financing tie-ups, and discounting levels.
- Further fundraising, debt facilities, or working-capital arrangements ahead of the 200-store target.
Likely next moves
Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.
- Announce city-by-city store rollout targets, likely concentrating first on southern and western metro clusters.
- Launch two additional scooter models or variants to create reasons for repeat store visits and expand addressable demand.
- Begin land, supplier, and equipment commitments for the greenfield factory before full retail rollout.
- Build service centers, spare-parts hubs, technician hiring, and financing partnerships alongside storefront expansion.
- Use a mix of company-owned experience centers and dealer-led outlets to limit capital intensity.
The counter-case
The case against this reading — not reported by the source.
A 200-store target by March 2027 risks prioritizing footprint over unit economics. EV scooter demand remains sensitive to subsidies, financing availability, charging confidence and aggressive discounting from better-capitalized incumbents. Simultaneously launching two products, building a greenfield factory and scaling retail could strain management bandwidth and consume the $120 million faster than expected. A 7–8x capacity increase may create underutilization risk if sales do not scale at the same pace.