On this page
Supreme Court plea challenges proposed MDR on UPI payments above ₹2,000
Our read
UPI MDR faces a legal-policy narrowing rather than outright cancellation, leaving large-ticket retailers with modest new acceptance costs and stronger incentives to optimize payment routing.
For operators
Large retailers should model a potential 0.4% UPI acceptance cost on payments above ₹2,000 from October 15, 2026, while monitoring the Supreme Court challenge and preserving exemptions for eligible small-merchant and low-value transactions.
Watch
Supreme Court admission, notice to the Centre, interim stay, or hearing dates in the PIL.
Ask next
The report,
A PIL in the Supreme Court challenges the Centre’s proposed MDR on merchant UPI payments above Rs 2,000, arguing inadequate safeguards and consultation. The framework sets a 0.4% fee, while exempting smaller UPI transactions and eligible small merchants.
- Proposed MDR on UPI payments above ₹2,000
- 0.4% MDR
- MDR cap for transactions of ₹75,000 and above
- ₹300
- MDR for capital-market transactions
- 0.02% MDR
- Monthly exemption threshold for small merchants
- ₹1 lakh
Reported figures
From the report. Source details below
| Rs 300 cap for transactions of | Rs 75,000 and above |
|---|
Also in the report
- Rs 5 flat MDR for specified sectors
- 0.02% MDR for capital-market transactions
- Rs 1 lakh monthly exemption threshold for small merchants
Why it matters to operators
Payments, merchant-acquiring, and checkout-platform targets with enterprise UPI capabilities may gain strategic value if MDR is implemented, while retail acquirers should diligence exposure to higher transaction costs and exemption eligibility.
What to watch next
- Final government notification detailing merchant eligibility, transaction aggregation rules, MDR payer, GST treatment, and enforcement mechanics.
- NPCI, RBI, Finance Ministry, and bank guidance on implementation and settlement flows.
- Merchant association responses and evidence of surcharge, minimum-ticket, or payment-steering experiments.
- UPI transaction mix changes around the ₹2,000 threshold, including potential ticket-splitting or migration to alternative rails.
- PSP and acquirer announcements of revised merchant pricing or subsidies ahead of October 15, 2026.
Likely next moves
Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.
- Model UPI acceptance costs by average ticket size, merchant category, and share of transactions above ₹2,000; identify retailers with the greatest exposure.
- Prepare checkout steering and tender-routing tests, including incentives for lower-cost payment modes without degrading UPI conversion.
- Renegotiate PSP, acquirer, and payment-gateway contracts for MDR pass-through caps, blended pricing, and volume-linked rebates.
- Review pricing, loyalty, and promotional policies for potential restrictions on payment-method surcharges or customer steering.
- Track whether large marketplaces, fuel retailers, electronics chains, travel merchants, and department stores coordinate lobbying for threshold or rate changes.
The counter-case
The case against this reading — not reported by the source.
The commercial impact may be overstated: a 0.4% MDR only applies to UPI payments above ₹2,000, while low-ticket transactions and eligible small merchants remain exempt. Large retailers may absorb the fee, steer customers toward lower-cost payment methods, renegotiate acquiring terms, or pass a limited portion to consumers. More importantly, the regime is still proposed and under Supreme Court challenge, so there is no certainty it will take effect as scheduled or in its current form.