Read the counter-case
On this page

Earlier report,

Amazon, Flipkart line up card discounts of up to 10% for October festive sales

Since then, : Amazon, Flipkart festive sales: SBI Cashback card offers flat 5% on both platforms, while other cards come with caps

Our read

Bank eligibility is likely to steer where festive baskets land, while matched headline discounts push competition toward actual checkout value.

For operators

Align festive pricing and inventory with Amazon’s October 8 and Flipkart’s October 9 launches, accounting for eligible-card discounts of up to 10% without assuming all shoppers qualify.

Watch

Published eligibility rules, minimum spends and discount caps

Ask next

The report,

Amazon starts its Great Indian Festival on October 8, while Flipkart launches Big Billion Days on October 9, 2026. SBI cards offer a 10% instant discount on Amazon; eligible Axis Bank and ICICI Bank cards offer up to 10% on Flipkart.

Card instant discounts for Amazon and Flipkart October festive sales
  • Amazon instant discount on eligible SBI cards10%
  • Flipkart instant discount on partner cardsup to 10%

Newer report adds to this story , : Amazon opening-day orders doubled year on year; Flipkart hit 6.3 million concurrent users.

What we verified

Checked against the other reports of this story.

  • Not a single-source story: Moneycontrol reports the same development independently.

The counter-case

The case against this reading — not reported by the source.

Headline discounts do not establish incremental demand or stronger profitability. Caps and eligibility restrictions may sharply reduce effective savings, while overlapping promotions could simply shift purchases between platforms or pull spending forward. Any margin pressure depends on who funds the offers.

Why it matters to operators

Benchmark Amazon–SBI and Flipkart–Axis/ICICI partnerships when evaluating bank-linked promotions, prioritizing eligible-customer reach and sustainable funding terms.

What to watch next

  • Changes to competing product prices and delivery promises
  • SBI, Axis Bank and ICICI Bank festive card-spending disclosures
  • Amazon and Flipkart disclosures on orders and new customers

Likely next moves

Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.

  • Amazon is likely to use its October 8 opening to pull forward purchases from SBI cardholders before Flipkart's sale begins.
  • Flipkart is likely to emphasize Axis Bank and ICICI Bank eligibility alongside product-specific deals to attract shoppers who have not committed their festive baskets.
  • Amazon and Flipkart may sharpen product pricing and delivery promises as similar headline card discounts reduce differentiation.
  • Customers with eligible cards are likely to shift purchase timing and platform choice toward qualifying offers, making some sale-period demand a transfer rather than incremental spending.

Updates

Each later report on this story, newest first. Earlier entries are never edited; a correction is a new entry.

  1. Read the update at Moneycontrol

    Amazon, Flipkart festive sales: SBI Cashback card offers flat 5% on both platforms, while other cards come with caps

    • HDFC Swiggy Card monthly cashback cap: Rs 1,500
    • HDFC Swiggy eligible monthly spend at 5 percent: Rs 30,000

Reported figures

From the report. Source details below

Amazon separate offer cashback: 35%
Amazon separate offer cashback cap: ₹150
Amazon Pay ICICI Bank cashback: 5%

The source

Source Read the source at Mint

Published

Confirmed by Moneycontrol

First seen