Read the counter-case
On this page

ITC Pays Rs 3,896 Crore Dividend to BAT-Linked Holders Despite Trimmed Stake

Our read

ITC's acquisition of three BAT trademarks for Rs 403.61 crore secures domestic brand control, reducing future royalty leakage and tightening operational ownership of its Indian product portfolio.

Watch

ITC cigarette volume and pricing trends amid GST/tax changes

Ask next

The report,

ITC paid Rs 3,896 crore in FY26 dividends to BAT-linked entities, down 8.1% as BAT trimmed its stake. ITC also acquired three BAT brand trademarks for the Indian market for Rs 403.61 crore.

Reported figures

From the report. Source details below

  • Rs 3,895.75 crore
  • Rs 4,238.93 crore
  • Rs 3,197.89 crore
  • 22.91% stake

Why it matters to operators

BAT's trimmed 22.91% holding alongside the Rs 403.61 crore trademark transfer to ITC hints at an evolving partnership structure that could open further stake-rebalancing or licensing M&A opportunities.

What to watch next

  • BAT regulatory filings indicating stake below 22% or fresh selldown approvals
  • Block-deal volumes and price discount on any BAT placement
  • Royalty/licensing line changes in ITC accounts post-trademark acquisition
  • Index weighting adjustments from increased free float

Likely next moves

Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.

  • Track ITC FCSG and cigarette segment margins to gauge benefit from owning localized BAT trademarks

The counter-case

The case against this reading — not reported by the source.

The 8.1% dividend decline to BAT-linked holders is purely mechanical, driven by BAT trimming its stake to 22.91%, not by any deterioration in ITC's payout policy or earnings power. Framing this as ITC being squeezed or BAT pulling back is misleading; per-share dividend to remaining holders is unchanged or higher. Meanwhile, the Rs 403.61 crore trademark acquisition is a cash outflow with uncertain ROI in a heavily-taxed, declining cigarette category facing regulatory and ESG headwinds.

The source

Source Read the source at NDTV Profit

Published

Confirmed by ET Small Business

First seen