Read the counter-case
On this page

RuPay credit card-linked UPI payments exempt from new 0.4% MDR

Our read

India's new UPI MDR will be a targeted high-ticket cost issue, not a broad retail payments shock, while accelerating migration toward RuPay credit-linked UPI at organized merchants.

For operators

Keep RuPay credit card-linked UPI enabled and focus MDR monitoring on direct bank-account UPI transactions above ₹2,000, as most merchant payments should remain fee-free.

Watch

Final NPCI, RBI, bank and acquirer circulars defining eligible merchant categories, transaction types and the exact direct-bank-account payment scope.

Ask next

The report,

India clarified that RuPay credit card-linked UPI and pre-sanctioned credit-line payments are exempt from the new 0.4% MDR. The revised regime targets certain direct bank-account merchant UPI payments above ₹2,000, while small merchants retain zero MDR.

New UPI MDR is 0.4% on certain payments above ₹2,000, with over 95% of P2M payments MDR-free
MDR, certain direct account-to-merchant payments
0.4%
Maximum MDR per transaction
₹300
Flat MDR, certain payments above ₹2,000
₹5
P2M UPI payments that remain MDR-free
More than 95%

Channel facts

From the report. Source details below

₹5 flat MDR for certain railways, telecom, insurance and fuel payments above ₹2,000

Also in the report

  • ₹300 maximum MDR per transaction
  • 0.02% MDR for capital-market UPI payments
  • Around 4% of merchant transactions expected to be covered
  • More than 95% of P2M UPI payments remain MDR-free
  • 5% of MDR collections allocated to small-merchant acceptance fund

What it means for online and offline

Payments partners with strong RuPay credit-card UPI and credit-line capabilities gain strategic value, since these rails remain exempt while selective high-value bank-account UPI payments face MDR.

Signals to track

  • Post-launch MDR line items in merchant settlement files and variance between acquirers or PSPs.
  • Share of UPI GMV above ₹2,000 moving from bank-account UPI to RuPay credit-linked UPI or credit-line UPI.
  • Issuer expansion of RuPay credit-card UPI issuance, transaction limits, rewards and customer eligibility.
  • Merchant adoption of payment steering, checkout tender ordering or minimum-basket tactics among large chains.
  • Any evidence that small-merchant zero-MDR status is narrowed, audited differently or subject to turnover-based reclassification.
Show 1 more
  • Consumer conversion and repeat-purchase changes if high-value UPI payment flows become more complex.

Likely next moves

Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.

  • Map UPI payment mix by ticket size, merchant entity, store format and rail type to isolate exposure to direct account-to-merchant payments above ₹2,000.
  • Confirm acquirer and PSP classification logic before October 15, including treatment of split payments, refunds, recurring payments, QR flows and online checkout transactions.
  • Add compliant tender-routing rules that prioritize exempt RuPay credit-linked UPI and other lower-cost accepted methods without degrading checkout conversion.
  • Prepare finance reporting that separates incremental MDR from normal UPI processing costs and tracks any shift in authorization, basket size and tender mix.
  • Negotiate with acquirers on pricing transparency, settlement reporting and protections against misclassification of exempt transactions.
Show 1 more
  • Avoid broad consumer-facing UPI surcharges; test targeted loyalty or payment-method incentives only where margin recovery exceeds discount and conversion costs.

The counter-case

The case against this reading — not reported by the source.

The practical relief may be overstated. Even if RuPay credit-card-linked UPI is exempt, retailers could still face MDR on the payment flow most relevant to high-value everyday transactions: direct account-to-merchant UPI above the threshold. Large-format retailers, electronics sellers, pharmacies, fuel outlets and digital merchants may have materially higher average ticket sizes than the national P2M mix, so a measure affecting less than 5% of transactions could affect a disproportionate share of payment value and merchant cost. Payment providers may also alter routing, pricing or incentives in ways that make the eventual merchant burden broader than the headline exemption suggests.

The source

Source Read the source at Mint Published

First seen