Read the counter-case
On this page

SBI plans 0.4% UPI merchant fee above ₹2,000 from October 15, 2027

Our read

SBI's fee is more likely to reshape higher-ticket checkout economics than disrupt mass-market UPI adoption.

For operators

Map SBI’s planned 0.4% UPI merchant fee above ₹2,000 into high-ticket omnichannel basket margins ahead of October 15, 2027, without assuming customers will absorb the cost.

Watch

SBI publishes final fee terms and confirms the implementation date

Ask next

The report,

SBI is preparing to implement a 0.4% UPI merchant fee on transactions above ₹2,000 from October 15, 2027, to partly offset infrastructure costs. It declined Apple Pay participation on commercial grounds; 96% of person-to-merchant UPI volumes remain exempt, and customers face no charges.

Channel facts

From the report. Source details below

Essential-services flat transaction fee: ₹5
Essential-services per-transaction fee cap: ₹300
SBI UPI volume share: 27%

What it means for online and offline

Use SBI’s commercially driven rejection of Apple Pay to stress-test wallet partnerships and prioritize payment deals with demonstrable merchant savings and sustainable cost-sharing.

Signals to track

  • Competing acquirers announce UPI merchant pricing offers
  • Affected merchants' UPI payment share changes for purchases above ₹2,000
  • SBI or Apple announces a change in Apple Pay participation

Likely next moves

Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.

  • SBI is likely to clarify merchant coverage and collection mechanics for the planned 0.4% fee before October 15, 2027.
  • Merchants affected by SBI's fee are likely to compare payment costs across channels and steer higher-value purchases toward cheaper options where available.
  • SBI's merchant-acquiring rivals may pitch lower-cost acceptance to affected merchants, increasing competition for higher-ticket accounts.
  • Apple may pursue Apple Pay partnerships with other banks rather than depend on SBI reversing its commercial decision.

The counter-case

The case against this reading — not reported by the source.

This is not yet evidence of market-wide UPI repricing or a meaningful omni-channel shift. A bank-specific proposal could have narrow coverage, face policy barriers, or never take effect. If 96% of merchant transaction volumes remain exempt and customers pay nothing, checkout behavior may barely change. Apple Pay non-participation is a separate commercial decision, not corroboration of broader UPI fee adoption.

The source

Source Read the source at CNBC-TV18

Published

Also reported by Moneycontrol

First seen