Read the counter-case
On this page

Indian Railways’ OSOP network tops 2,300 outlets, delivers Rs 162 crore in local-product sales

Our read

OSOP’s next phase will be defined less by outlet count and more by whether Railways converts station footfall into a standardized, digitally enabled launchpad for regional brands.

For operators

Indian Railways’ OSOP network now spans 2,300+ outlets at 2,000+ stations, demonstrating a scalable format for converting high-footfall transit locations into local-product retail hubs.

Watch

Monthly or annual OSOP sales growth versus outlet additions, especially sales per outlet.

The report,

Indian Railways’ OSOP network has grown to over 2,300 outlets across 2,000-plus stations, generating Rs 162.39 crore in sales for local artisans and small producers. The scheme offers regional crafts, textiles, food and other goods, with expansion continuing.

Store and format facts

From the report. Source details below

15-day pilot at 19 stations
Rs 500-Rs 1,000 registration fee for 15 days
West Bengal: 378 units
Maharashtra: 205 units
Tamil Nadu: 199 units
Uttar Pradesh: 196 units

Also in the report

  • Over 1.54 lakh beneficiaries
  • Nearly 1.5 lakh direct beneficiaries

Other figures

  • Launched March 25, 2022

What it means for the format

The scheme’s reach to more than 1.54 lakh artisans and producers makes OSOP a sizable partnership channel for brands seeking local sourcing, marketplace distribution and public-sector retail access.

Next on the rollout

  • Expansion into major tourist stations, suburban commuter nodes, airports, metro interchanges or onboard train retail.
  • New Railway Board rules on kiosk contracts, rents, product eligibility, quality certification or digital-payment requirements.
  • Evidence of repeatable national brands emerging from OSOP suppliers or partnerships with e-commerce and modern-trade chains.
  • Vendor complaints, product-quality incidents, inventory gaps or outlet closures that indicate operating-model stress.

Likely next moves

Our read of what comes next — analysis, not reported by the source.

  • Introduce station-tiered assortments, with compact impulse-purchase ranges for commuter hubs and larger regional discovery formats at tourist and junction stations.
  • Track sales per outlet, repeat purchase, stock availability and vendor retention rather than relying primarily on outlet count and cumulative sales.
  • Build centralized quality, packaging and food-safety standards for products intended to scale beyond a single station or region.
  • Enable QR-led product provenance, digital catalogs and home-delivery links so travelers can reorder after their journey.
  • Use OSOP sales data to identify regional brands suitable for procurement by larger retailers, hospitality groups and e-commerce platforms.

The counter-case

The case against this reading — not reported by the source.

The footprint headline may overstate the programme’s commercial depth: 2,300 outlets across 2,000+ stations suggests many are small, rotating or lightly trafficked formats rather than durable retail businesses. Cumulative sales of Rs 162.39 crore over roughly three years equate to modest average sales per outlet, raising questions about unit economics, artisan income, inventory turnover and whether the network can sustain itself without railway support.

The source

Source Read the source at ET Small Business

Published

Also reported by Financial Express

First seen